2020 LAUC-LA Librarian of the Year Award Nominations Due March 13

By February 12, 2020

Has a UCLA librarian had a major impact on a course you teach? Has a librarian gone above and beyond to further your research? Has a librarian been a creative partner in one of your initiatives or other projects? This is your chance to recognize this librarian’s work!

The Librarians Association of the University of California, Los Angeles (LAUC-LA) invites nominations for its 2020 Librarian of the Year Award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 13, 2020.

This award recognizes excellence in librarianship that furthers the teaching and research mission of UCLA and responds to the intellectual, informational, and cultural needs of the university community. The librarian’s achievement could be demonstrated by partnerships with faculty to create assignments, workshops, or other instructional content; collaboration with researchers to complete a research project; a significant professional achievement; the creation of a new library program or service; major contributions to a university-wide initiative; outstanding original research; leadership at a national or international level; outreach to the community; LAUC participation; service to the library profession; or exceptional engagement with students, faculty, and other library users. Candidates should embody one or more of the following:

    • creativity
    • innovation
    • courage
    • leadership
    • scholarship

A candidate should be nominated for a specific contribution made during the past 12 to 18 months (2019-20), rather than for overall career achievement. All UCLA librarians employed 50% time or more may be nominated.

Successful nominations include:

    • Letters of support from faculty, staff, or other librarians; and/or
      Student testimonials
      • Note: Letters and testimonials should describe the author’s experience with nominee and the librarian’s impact on the author’s work and/or the university.

Optional documentation to include, as applicable:

    • Citations to publications
    • Descriptions of research
    • Media coverage
    • Websites related to the nominee’s work

To read about the previous recipients and their accomplishments, please see the LAUC-LA website at https://library.ucla.edu/about/lauc-la/about-lauc-la/lauc-la-librarian-year.

To nominate a librarian for this award, please complete this form: https://bit.ly/2020LotY

The award winner will be announced and the award presented at the 2020 LAUC-LA Spring Membership Meeting. Following this announcement, the committee will send a letter to each nominee regarding their consideration for this award, with a summary of points supporting the nomination.

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Diana Ascher at ascher@gseis.ucla.edu.

2020 Librarian of the Year Award Committee:

Diana Ascher, chair
Amanda Mack
Nora Avetyan
Faculty Representative: Joseph Bristow, Distinguished
Professor of English


LAUC is the University of California’s primary organization for professional librarian and governance affairs.